Registration is Now Open!

April 8 – 10, 2016

The Retreat at Artesian Lakes in Cleveland, TX (

Register at

The registration deadline is March 25th, 2016 and fees are $350.00 (single) or $300.00 (double).
Registration fees include lodging and meals and can be paid by credit card or personal check. To pay with a credit card, please call Jenny Ponzio at 979-845-1435.

The abstract deadline is March 25th, 2016. Please send your abstract, including your name and institution, as a word file to  If you are a student or post-doc and would like to be considered for a 15-minute talk, please indicate this on the top of your abstract submission.

Registration Awards for Trainees:
This year registration awards are available to cover the registration fee, lodging and meals (but not travel costs) for students and postdocs with financial difficulties who could not otherwise attend the conference. To apply for one, please send an email with (1) a scientific abstract, (2) a brief statement describing the financial need and (3) a brief statement of support from the mentor to with subject line “TPFF Award”. The application deadline for Registration Awards is March 25, 2016.


  The Evolutionary ‘Design’ of Proteins
Rama Ranganathan, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Director, Cecil H. and Ida Green
Comprehensive Center for Molecular, Computational, and Systems Biology at UT
Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.

  SEWING: Designing New Structures from Protein Pieces
Brian Kuhlman, Ph.D., Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics at University of North
Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine.

Sarah Bondos, Ph.D., Texas A&M Health Science Center
Kevin Gardner, Ph.D., CUNY Advanced Science Research Center
Jennifer Maynard, Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Kim Orth, Ph.D., HHMI, UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Joff Silberg, Ph.D., Rice University
Phil Thomas, Ph.D., UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Ben Wylie, Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Claus Wilke, Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Ry Young, Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Please spread the word to colleagues who may not know about the meeting. We hope to see you there!

Steve Lockless (Texas A&M), chair
Clay Clark (UT Arlington), co-chair